Oats

12 Oct

Here is the response from Steve Canny, but first the questions I asked

Could you please explain what the $50,000 funding of the Oat project will be for?  The story/report confused me a little. 
Is it for growth of oats as a crop or secondary products using oats or processing of oats? 
Who is undertaking the research/study? 
Who will be the immediate beneficiary/ies? 
How did Venture Southland get involved?
Where did the first approaches come from for funding?
His response is as follows and unedited
Hi Kylie, please forgive for not getting back to you before now in response to your email on Wednesday. I have attached a copy of the report that went to Joint Committee on Monday and there is also a lot of further background information that you may also be interested in, in relation to this project. Our role has as is the case of many of our project is to identify new opportunities of region that have wide-spread benefits and that lead to the creation of industries that support businesses and communities throughout Southland. Once the commercial viability has been established then it is up to the private sector to drive the implementation of the commercial opportunities.
In this case we (Venture Southland) has identified an industry that produces high value, high health foods (on poor soils), that have very low environmental impacts and provide employment opportunities both on-farm and in urban based process plants (milling and milk production). This is primarily an export business which will potentially increase freight volumes through our port provided market connections are aligned.
I would be more than happy to discuss this further. So please give me a call when you get a chance. Have a great weekend and thank you for your note.
Regards Stephen Canny
A lot of answers missing there so I may have to follow-up.  I really should stop taking on issues.  Aside from not being able to invest money in electioneering, I should have invested more time in promoting ‘solutions’ and being positive I’m told.  May be in three years I will have learned to suppress the real me (lol).  Lessons learned but enjoyed the journey and fared reasonably well.
Running for council was a part of refocusing myself and trying to effect some change in my life.  So in light of that I would like to remind others that the blog welcomes guest bloggers.  My focus needs to be on me and the whanau a little more.  If you have something, news, views, or an idea please email them through: motupohue@mail.com.
2 Responses to “Oats”

  1. robertguyton October 13, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Hi Kylie – sorry to hear you didn’t make Council. You’ll hear that’s the usual pattern is to miss out at your first attempt and I’ve believe that’s true. The advice that you need to campaign hard, creatively and conventionally, with billboards, is also true, I believe. I know candidates whose vote numbers were greatly boosted because of their billboards. I don’t believe though, that you should suppress the real you and put on a Pollyanna persona, nor do I believe you have to present solutions and ‘be positive’ in the way that you might have been told. Showing backbone is vital if you are to use one when you are elected.

    • Kylie October 13, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      I wouldn’t want to be a Pollyanna type either but will make sure I’ll have billboards and $ available next time around.

Got something to say?

