People Can Be So Helpful

8 Oct

Someone has helped me understand the 16 South Island electorates and it turns out there is a special name for it.

The South Island is guaranteed to have 16 general seats, with the remainder of voters (North Island and Māori) being divided into electorates of the same population as the South Island ones. The population size of electorates determined with such a procedure is called the ‘South Island quota’

Now that is resolved I have another question.  When did Invercargill change from a ward system to ‘at-large’?  And while we are at it, where can I get a historical list of elected members?


Got something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: