Transparency Is A Lifestyle Choice

24 Sep

You cannot claim to be transparent then not live it.  That is the stark difference between ILT and the Community Trust of Southland.  I can find everything I need (and some) on the CTOS site.  On ILT Foundation I couldn’t find any finances (happy to be proven wrong) and on ILT’s I found this 7 page ‘Annual Report’ (6.4mb because of all the purdy pictures).  It did not provide me with what I wanted so I put it out on the wwww. (wonderful world wide web) and I was emailed this 42 page Annual Report by a resident.

The result is, we can now add ILT $$ to the ‘public purse’ list.  Sadly their report does not have names (easily found elsewhere) nor do I know if they receive more for being on the ILT Foundation or if the other foundation trustees are remunerated.

REMUNERATION OF TRUST MEMBERS
Section 207 (1) of the Sale of Liquor Act 1989 requires the Invercargill Licensing Trust (Parent) to make the following disclosures:
President Remuneration
President‟s Honorarium paid during the year was $31,000 ($31,000 in 2011).
Trust Members Honorarium
The total honorarium paid to all other Trust Board members during the year was $33,600 ($23,520 in 2011).

I find the wording ambiguous though.  Is that a total for each member or a total of all members as a collective amount?  I can read it as either.  I will have a better look after I get some housework done.

I should mention that I found this section of the Sale and Supply Of Alcohol Act 2012 interesting.  Needs more research…

3 Responses to “Transparency Is A Lifestyle Choice”

  1. Philip.T September 24, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    Thats why everyone should vote Peter Redpath for ILT. Peter has done time on the CTOS and knows how such organisations work. The ILT works backwards in telling the public continually what a great job they are doing in giving the communities money back to them but keeps it close to the chest how this is achieved. By doing this they are failing the public as they never achieve their potential and instead spend to much time on self promotion where for very little effort they could do far better. They are also into the having fingers in all pies rather than separate roles and look to drive performance rather than manage it. By managing it they close down questions before they are asked where good governance is about questioning things

    • Kylie September 24, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      And if I had an ILT vote I would give it to him!!!

      • Philip.T September 24, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

        Likewise but Our City Our Trust is so far out of date when it comes to the actual city. Just another example of why a councillor cant sit astride both as to often is acting not in the interests of a large part of their constituents.

Got something to say?

