Only Vote For Whomever You Really Want

3 Sep

Even Boniface holds the view that you should only vote for the ones you can honestly say you want around the table.  I’ll get back to Boniface.   I spent the morning in the Breast Care Centre waiting room.  Strangely enough Council came up and it wasn’t me that started it.  Nothing personal to Cllrs Boniface and Dennis but I am yet to meet someone who votes for them or intends to vote for them.  It raises the question, who the hell votes for them or do they keep getting in because of throwaway votes?

YOU DON’T HAVE TO USE ALL 12 VOTES!!!

Please spread that around, we need to vote smarter.  And wouldn’t it be interesting to see the outcome of an election with  randomised names?

I have to get caught up on the housework.  The Cue TV Newsroom Election Special has played on my mind so I have not performed very well domestically.  We filmed the piece last night – Lindsay Abbott, Neil Boniface and little ol’ me.  It screens on September 12 @ 9.30pm.  I did not do as well as I had hoped so please don’t assess me on that alone.  Read my blog, my vote.co.nz page or ring or email me.  I am not a fan of cameras.

I don’t have time to go into much detail but Boniface made a comment off screen about me having my facts wrong on the EIL post.  I ask that anyone and everyone (including Boniface) tell me where my errors are.  The standard Boniface ‘you don’t understand how it works’ answer won’t cut it though.

5 Responses to “Only Vote For Whomever You Really Want”

  1. Philip T September 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Give yourself a big pat on the back. He must be reading your blog and if there was something wrong he would be quick to jump on you publicly. What all these people need is secrecy and the have got to hide the facts from the public. Boniface needs the votes because that is his livelihood. Should challenge him to a public debate on the pros and cons of council owned enterprises.

    • Kylie September 3, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

      I answered your question on the Vote NZ website but should really have added that I don’t see where there is an argument for elected members to be on Boards of companies. Each of those companies has an annual opportunity to negotiate with the shareholders (council a.k.a. ratepayers) the conditions and requirements and expectations through the Statement Of Intent. One would also hope that the shareholders can attend meetings of the company and have access to minutes and financial reports.

      It took me a while to convince ICC that the Maritime Museum was a CCO, finally that accepted it. My desire to do that was based on the principal that you can’t pick and choose when you will follow the requirements of the Local Govt Act. All or nothing and you have had the opportunity to submit your views on the legislation in it’s infancy. If they want to submit to their plans and commit to their rules they need to represent the Southland regions views to central govt.

  2. Rangi Pottinger September 3, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Hi Kylie,
    Well done for going on Cue last night. I was like a possum in the headlights in front of the camera last night and it is not easy in 30 seconds to get across your train of thought.
    Cheers
    Rangi

    • Kylie September 3, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      Not something I want to repeat (and it will be…4 times!) Thank goodness I don’t have to do that often though.
      Can you shed any light on where I have my facts wrong? Maybe I will do a flowchart with all the percentages of ownership. And maybe a list of directors.

  3. Philip T September 3, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    All these people conveniently overlook the basics around good business and governance. There has to be clear separations of the roles so each understands what they are accountable for and how performance can be measured. The old adage is the poacher and gamekeeper from Victorian England. When they both stuck to what they were doing it worked OK. However if the gamekeeper wanted to also be a part time poacher it fall to bits. With both the ICC and the ILT they are very deliberate in mixing together elected people and management into roles on boards and that then clouds the outcomes so people cant see the corruption deliberate or otherwise. Then by bring the Council manager onto the appointments committee it alters the poacher gamekeeper roles. Remember the councillors are his employers yet he has the power to give or take away substantial amounts of money so who is really in charge? Then the boards report to the council. Again the same people are involved so no one is going to call a board to account when they are sitting with the same people who are part of it. Then just to make sure all bases are covered they appoint senior management onto boards. Again against every good business practice. The roles there are even more complex. The ILT is good at that in the likes of the stadium trust and that is why no one can question the horrendous mismanagement of the rebuild. Instead they run around looking for excuses where in a normal business relationship someone would be getting their ar@#se kicked. Meanwhile 20 million dollars disappears. Who would know whats going on the council owned companies because they have gone to great lengths to cover it up and keep people from again a fundamental right and that is to peruse a set of accounts and balance sheet. Why hide it? There is only one reason and that is because the accounts would not stand public scrutiny.

Got something to say?

