Compelling Reading

13 Aug

I’m thinking that Karen Arnold has a bloody good chance this time around.  By elections are hard with everyone only having one vote but now we all have twelve.  There will be some scared incumbent councillors.  They say competition is a good thing…

I’ve never met Karen but we seem to be on the same page on some things.  Her blog says:

I’d like to see the  council focus more on its core functions – delivering to the ratepayers and residents a city that is clean and safe; a city that looks after the interests of its own people first; a city that values what it is and accepts what it can’t be. Forget about trips to China and Japan and leave yacht races to the private sector and people who should know what they’re doing.

She’ll have a lot of residents nodding their heads as they read that (including me) and this

Most of all, I’d like our city councillors to be fully informed.

Agreed, and further to that…residents to be fully informed also.  Communication, a novel idea for ICC.

I’d like to join other like-minded councillors who, with greater numbers at the council table, are keen to be courageous leaders, challenge the information put in front of them and re-engage with the people.

Being as the Bluff rumour mill is already turning I suppose I should now point out that I too have thrown my hat in the ring.  From what I read so far I could easily call myself ‘like-minded’.  I would only differ on one aspect which is something I included in my Profile Statement

We should not let ‘community leaders’ make decisions for us.
To me councillors are there to advocate and represent us and take OUR views to the council table.

Good luck to Karen.  I hope we will be sitting around the council table together;-)

Authorised by Kylie Fowler, 322 Gore Street, Bluff – and so it begins…

7 Responses to “Compelling Reading”

  1. karenarnold4icc August 13, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    Well, well, well Ms Fowler! Is this little ol’ town big enough for the two of us?? I wouldn’t know you if I fell over you or raced you for a carpark…but it is kinda good, this time round, to know there’s some serious challenges going on for the ICC…
    Here’s to better representation of the people of Invercargill City and Bluff!!

    • Kylie August 13, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

      Of course it is! Twelve seats around the table, seemingly I was number 16 to come forward for ICC at 2pm today. I can think of another six or seven that are either incumbent or have indicated they will.

      • karenarnold4icc August 13, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

        Did you feel nervous?I did last year for the by-election but was as cool as a wet flannel this time round…

      • Kylie August 13, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

        Last night and this morning but this is only the beginning isn’t it? I have some good people that are cheering me on (a strange concept for me). I’m realistic, first time on the list but think Invers is crying out for a change of mindset.

      • karenarnold4icc August 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

        Of course, things aren’t so easy…there’s Monty to consider…

  2. Samantha Stephens August 13, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    Good on you Kylie! Your common sense is what we need

    • Kylie August 13, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

      CHEERS!! Feel free to recommend me to all your friends…lol.
      I don’t have $30K to throw at advertising and will definitely be relying on the kindness of others and technology.

Got something to say?

