Happy Anniversary!

23 Jun

I just logged into the blog to be notified by WordPress that today is the anniversary of the blog.  I assume it is the two year anniversary.  Well done to me (I suppose).  Some will think differently but, all things aside, I feel confident that more people are aware of how Bluff operates and are at least a little more informed.

In addition to my local government views I have been able to share local information or publications.  Those further afield have been very appreciative of that at least.  I do wish I had more time to be proactive rather than reactive but 4 kids and a household put paid to that and it’s pretty obvious that the household suffers the most (haha).  I wonder what those who don’t like me or the blog would attack if my house was pristine and the lawns mowed and edges done?  They might have to attack the issue…yeah right!

Anyway the next two years look to be an interesting time and with far better opportunities for Bluff to progress as a community.  First step, we need our own base camp…

4 Responses to “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. Lee June 23, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Congratulations on your informative comment on Southland issues and sharing your excellent research skills with well documented sources such as the Local Government Act. Putting The Beacon on-line is particularly appreciated.

    • Kylie June 23, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      Cheers. I begrudgingly do the Beacon but I am now wondering if I should just do it when it comes out. Newspapers are widely available free of charge as subscriptions are no longer deemed a significant portion of the income. Advertising has become the primary income and if anything, I am circulating the ads in the Beacon more widely so the advertisers are getting better coverage. It may impinge on the hard copy sales initially but the ‘editors’ will have to adjust their print run to accommodate. If I were an advertiser in the Beacon I would be happy to have it online – more coverage.
      I know the Beacon charges $80 per page, $40 1/2, $20 1/4 etc. By my calculations they received (rounding down if unsure of value) $240 (incl Perpetual full page – surely that has to be paid to keep the books straight for the tax man?) for the latest Beacon. Costs will be reduced as the p[rint run is and the readership will expand providing better selling power for the ads….win-win I think. I will ponder it.

  2. Graham Lewis June 23, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Happy Anniversary, dedication is a great thing G

    • Kylie June 23, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      And how about yourself…will you be committing to another term in Council if the electors agree?

Got something to say?

